Hand-eye coordination - what is it actually

Parents encounter hand-eye coordination again and again. Be it on educationally valuable games (here it often says: promotes hand-eye coordination) or in the field of occupational therapy in the context of an abnormality in the child.

A brief explanation: hand-eye coordination

Eye-hand coordination - image by rita in on Pixabay

But at least they know what exactly is behind it. The eye-hand coordination belongs to the field of visuomotor skills. This is the coordination of a visual (visible) perception and the body itself. The visuomotor function is to be understood as a task of the brain that takes place unconsciously.

An example of hand-eye coordination

An example of hand-eye coordination is catching an object. First of all, the child has to recognize the object (a ball catches itself differently than a frisbee disc), then it has to assess the position and the speed.

All of this is recorded visually and implemented in the brain at lightning speed in order to coordinate the body successfully. Coordination, in turn, is the correct interaction of extremities or muscles in response to a stimulus.

The eye-hand coordination is the ability to process and implement what is visually recorded accordingly, in this case with the hands.

Not only throwing games require good hand-eye coordination, but also tower-stacking games or puzzles. Here you can still subdivide into gross motor skills and fine motor skills.

An example of the former would be the ball game, while puzzles fall into the domain of fine motor / eye-hand coordination.

Do you have questions, suggestions or criticism? Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Auge-Hand-Koordination – Was ist das eigentlich

Die Auge-Hand-Koordination begegnet Eltern immer wieder. Sei es auf pädagogisch wertvollen Spielen (hier steht oft dabei: fördert die Auge-Hand-Koordination) oder im Bereich der Ergotherapie im Rahmen einer Auffälligkeit des Kindes.

Eine kurze Erklärung: Auge-Hand-Koordination

Auge-Hand-Koordination – Bild von RitaE auf Pixabay

Was sich dahinter aber genau verbirgt, wissen die wenigstens. Die Auge-Hand-Koordination gehört in den Bereich der Visuomotorik. Dies ist die Koordination von einer visuellen (sichtbaren) Wahrnehmung und dem Körper an sich. Die Visuomotorik ist als eine Aufgabe des Gehirns zu verstehen, die sich unbewusst abspielt.

Ein Beispiel für die Auge-Hand-Koordination

Ein Beispiel für die Auge-Hand-Koordination ist das Fangen eines Gegenstandes. Zunächst muss das Kind den Gegenstand erkennen (ein Ball fängt sich anders als eine Frisbeescheibe), weiterhin muss es die Position und die Geschwindigkeit einschätzen.

All das wird visuell aufgenommen und im Gehirn blitzschnell umgesetzt, um den Körper erfolgreich zu koordinieren. Koordination ist wiederum das richtige Zusammenwirken von Extremitäten beziehungsweise Muskeln auf einen Reiz.

Die Auge-Hand-Koordination ist also die Fähigkeit, das visuell Aufgenommene entsprechend verarbeiten und umsetzen zu können, in diesem Fall eben mit den Händen.

Nicht nur Wurfspiele benötigen eine gute Auge-Hand-Koordination, sondern auch Turm-Stapel-Spiele oder Puzzle. Hier kann man noch in Grobmotorik und Feinmotorik unterteilen.

Ein Beispiel für Ersteres wäre das Ballspiel, während Puzzle in den Bereich der Feinmotorik/Auge-Hand-Koordination fallen.

Haben Sie Fragen, Anregungen oder Kritik? Sprechen Sie uns gerne an.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.