Federal States Germany - Map & Capitals

School knowledge and general knowledge are such a thing - sometimes you get asked really simple questions and then embarrassingly but does not know the answer. "What are the 16 states of Germany" is exactly one of these classics. And then the question of the capitals of the states. And in some naturalization tests exactly these informations are queried.

What are the 16 states of Germany and their capitals

Germany - Alte Oper, Frankfurt am Main
Germany - Alte Oper, Frankfurt am Main

The Federal Republic of Germany is divided into 16 states with the respective capitals:

  1. Baden-Württemberg - capital of Stuttgart
  2. Bavaria - capital Munich
  3. Berlin - capital Berlin
  4. Brandenburg - capital Potsdam
  5. Bremen - capital Bremen
  6. Hamburg - capital of Hamburg
  7. Hesse - Capital Wiesbaden - (no: Frankfurt is not the capital of Hesse)
  8. Mecklenburg-Vorpommern - capital Schwerin
  9. Lower Saxony - capital Hannover
  10. North Rhine-Westphalia - capital Düsseldorf
  11. Rhineland-Palatinate - capital Mainz
  12. Saarland - capital of Saarbrücken
  13. Saxony - capital Dresden
  14. Saxony-Anhalt - capital Magdeburg
  15. Schleswig-Holstein - capital Kiel
  16. Thuringia - capital of Erfurt

Map 16 Federal States Germany and capitals

To enlarge the Germany map click on the picture | © pico - Fotolia.de

16 states of Germany
List of 16 states of Germany and their capitals - Click to enlarge © pico - Fotolia.de

How many countries are bordering on Germany?

Germany borders nine states:

  • in the north to Denmark
  • in the east to Poland and the Czech Republic
  • in the south to Switzerland and Austria
  • in the west to Luxembourg, France, the Netherlands and Belgium

Additional information about the German federal states

Since 1990 Germany is reunited from the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) and the German Democratic Republic (GDR). Since this year, the new national holiday (Day of German Unity) is no longer the 17. June but the 3. October.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .