Switzerland cantons map

Switzerland - official name "Swiss Confederation" is a democratic state in Europe and includes linguistically German, French, Italian and Romansh areas.

How many cantons does Switzerland have and what are their names?

Switzerland is divided into 26 cantons with the following major cities:

  • Aargau, capital Aarau
  • Appenzell Outer Rhodes, capital of Herisau
  • Appenzell Inner Rhodes, capital Appenzell
  • Basel-Land, capital Liestal
  • Basel city, capital Basel
  • Bern, capital Bern
  • Friborg Freiburg, capital city Friborg / Freiburg
  • Geneve / Geneva, capital Geneve / Geneva
  • Glarus, capital Glarus
  • Grisons / Grischuns / Grigioni, capital Chur
  • Law, capital Delsberg
  • Lucerne, capital Lucerne
  • Neuchâtel / Neuchâtel, capital Neuchâtel
  • Nidwalden, capital of Stans
  • Obwalden, capital of Sarnen
  • St.Gallen, capital St. Gallen
  • Schaffhausen, capital Schaffhausen
  • Schwyz, capital Schwyz
  • Solothurn, capital Solothurn
  • Thurgau, capital Frauenfeld
  • Ticino / Ticino, capital of Bellinzona
  • Uri, capital Altdorf
  • Vaud / Vaud, capital of Lausanne
  • Valais / Wallis, capital Sion / Sion
  • Train, capital train
  • Zurich, capital of Zurich

The cantons of Switzerland in the overview

Click on image to enlarge - © pico - Fotolia.de

The cantons of Switzerland
How many cantons does Switzerland have and what are their names? - Click on image to enlarge - © pico - Fotolia.de

How many countries are bordering on Switzerland?

Switzerland has 5 contiguous neighboring countries:

  • Austria
  • Italian
  • Liechtenstein
  • France
  • Germany

Create a map of Switzerland for yourself


Are you missing a map? Do you have questions, suggestions or criticism? Talk to us!

Here is room for opinions, criticism, suggestions or thanks :-)